Lotus Image

Buddhism Teacher

"A Buddhist is primarily a person in search of a satisfying life while pursuing enlightenment and practicing compassion and loving kindness"

Traditions and Schools The Buddha Karma The Four Noble Truths The Five Aggregates The Triple Gem The Three Poisons The Four Immeasurables The Five Precepts The Paramitas (Perfections) Dharma (Dhamma) The Three Baskets Emptiness Sutras (Suttas) Nirvana (Nibbana) Samsara
Amazon Store (books, videos, audios) Printfection Store (t-shirts)

The Paramitas (Perfections)

The Paramitas hold an important place in Buddhism, especially in the Mahayana tradition, because it is an expression of what one should strive for if one wants to live life in a skillful, realistic, enlightened and wise way. In substance, the Paramitas point the way for living life by practicing metta (lovingkindness) and karuna (compassion).

The Paramitas are sometimes listed as six and sometimes as ten.  As six they are:

Wise Owl Image
  1. Generosity (Liberality)
  2. Conduct (Morality)
  3. Patience (Forbearance)
  4. Energy (Diligence, Industrious, Hard Work)
  5. Meditation
  6. Wisdom

As ten they are:

  1. Generosity (Liberality)
  2. Morality (Conduct)
  3. Renunciation
  4. Wisdom
  5. Diligence (Industrious)
  6. Patience (Forbearance)
  7. Truthfulness
  8. Resolution (Determination, Purpose)
  9. Lovingkindness
  10. Equanimity

Practitioners of the Paramitas are concerned about the welfare of all beings.  Therefore they

  1. strive to help others to be happy and secure by giving, without first investigating whether or not they are worthy,
  2. avoid doing them any harm by observing morality,
  3. strive toward performing tasks without hope of obtaining wealth, fame or privileges, and avoid the seeking of pleasures so that morality can be perfected,
  4. strive for insight, for wise and clearer understanding of what is beneficial and injurious to themselves and others,
  5. constantly exert energy and enthusiastic effort for the happiness of themselves and others,
  6. practice patience through compassion and lovingkindness by realizing the imperfections of ourselves and others,
  7. strive to be reliable, honest, truthful and dependable by not breaking promises, pledges or oaths,
  8. are determined to work constantly for the welfare of ourselves and all beings,
  9. reflect lovingkindness and compassion through the practice of kind and helpful acts toward all beings,
  10. harbor no thoughts of expectation or reward for our actions through the practice of equanimity.